Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, new user here, so I apologize if this is in the wrong place to begin with.

I've been traveling for work for a few years now, and I haven't been able to shoot, or hunt really. This year is looking different, so I'm wanting to upgrade my old set up (Browning Backdraft).

I'm not quite ready to plunk down the money for a new top of the line bow (maybe later if I get consistent time off to enjoy), so I'm looking for advice: would I be better off picking up something new in the mid range, or get something used that was a higher end bow when it came out.

I'm looking at primarily hunting, with some fun 3D shoots now and then as time permits. I'm fairly tall, 6'3" large build, so any specific examples would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

·
Registered
11,795 Posts
I would go with a new middle of the road bow, or a new leftover higher end model from a prior year for about the same money. You will have a warranty with either if you go that route.

·
Registered
1,726 Posts
Used higher end FOR SURE. If you share your budget, that would be EXTREMELY helpful. You can pick up 2019 PSE Evoke 35's for in the 500 range and that is a top of the line bow!

·
Registered
Isaiah 6:8
2,757 Posts
i went with a used higher end and got a phenomenal deal. i feel you get more bang for your buck. used elites are reasonable. also brand new elites that are a year or two old are a great deal and come with a warranty

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Used higher end FOR SURE. If you share your budget, that would be EXTREMELY helpful. You can pick up 2019 PSE Evoke 35's for in the 500 range and that is a top of the line bow!
I’d like to keep it under $750 ready to go, but I have a couple months before I’m ready to pull the trigger.

I don’t mind shelling out the money for something great later, just not sure I’ll be able to use it much with work.