Archery Talk Forum banner

Saddle hunting loadouts

1140 Views 22 Replies 13 Participants Last post by  smokin x's
I’ve been hunting on the ground for the last 3 years and have not had a lot of success. I love hunting out of tree stands and being in the air just haven’t had a hang and hunt set up before. I used to have private ground where I could hunt so weight was never really an issue. But now I’m doing a lot more public land hunting, trying to get in the deeper woods and would like to figure out what people are carrying in with them. I’m going for more of a minimalist setup and was trying to think of the items I NEED to bring in with me. I’m doing screw in steps and debating if I want to wear my saddle in. Im leaning more towards packing it in due to slippage that the double panels are known for. What does everyone carry in with them and what are some packs you use?
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
5,187 Posts
For a pack I use a Huntworth Lodi for shorter hikes where I know where I'll set up. For longer hikes I use my Oregon Pack Works Orion/Rogue.

I wear my saddle on the way in if I'm not going far. I've never had any "slippage" with my two panel or single panel saddles.

I have my tether and platform attached to my pack. I have my lineman rope daisy chained across the front of my saddle. I have one dump pouch that has my daisy chain, s-biners, and hero clip for hanging my bow.

I either strap my climbing sticks to the bottom of my pack or carry them with a shoulder strap.

My pack has snacks, water, calls, knives, zip ties, and my knee pads.

I'll either keep my range finder on my pack or my Bino harness if I'm wearing it.

Reactions: Tenn47 and Ybuck

· Registered
Hoyt CRX 32, PSE EVL 34
514 Posts
I climb one stick. I back pack my gear in here is a the list of what’s in my back pack.
Deer tag
Gutting kit ( rubber gloves and some wipes)
Knife
Rachet Pruners ( to clip twigs and vines if need be.)
Binos
Range finder