Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My name is Dan Whisler and I am a science teacher/coach (Sterling, KS) and need guidance in getting a school archery unit started, please. Our junior high PE teacher asked me today if I would be willing to help her teach an archery unit before school is out, so I would like ask AT members for your help. As my interest in archery/bowhunting started my soph. year in PE when we did an archery unit (I shot my first buck with a bow as a senior), I know this is a great opportunity to show youth how much fun target shooting can be and want to help them get started right. I am hoping maybe a more formal program might grow out of interest from this unit. I am not, however, familiar with any of the school programs available today. I have seen NASP advertised, but that is about all I know at this point.

If you have helped start or assisted with a school archery program, I would be interested in hearing from you regarding things to be sure to do or not do; if you know of specific programs I should take a look at I would welcome those suggestions, too. Any ideas/assistance you could provide in getting me started in the right direction would be greatly appreciated! Thanks! Dan

· Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks! I had taken a quick look at that site, but missed the curriculum info. Has anyone had any luck with getting local businesses to help support/ sponsor the school programs? I don't anticipate us building it to the point of traveling to any tournaments for a while (maybe later?), but to have PE classes shooting and maybe an organized archery club would be a good start. I will keep reading...

· Registered
1,732 Posts