Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bad idea to scrimp on a release I know....but getting back into archery after a long nap I stupidly bought a cheap release. Black horse...super tight trigger and no adjustment. I realized after shooting a few releases I liked the idea of a strap instead of a shaft for the trigger. So I grabbed an itty bitty and love it except for one thing. The jaw doesn't seem to lock once you put it on the D loop. Is it supposed to be that touchy? I find that I have to put my index finger behind the trigger and push it forward as I draw so that it doesn't release as I begin to draw. If you put a good bit of pressure on it, it will hold the string....but if you put it on the loop and move your hand a bit it comes off. I'm afraid to trust it as I draw, but putting my index finger behind it makes it a bit "clunky" on the draw. Normal? total noob question eh'? Thanks all....great info here. Much appreciated.

·
Registered
1,837 Posts
I have one and always put my finger against back of trigger on draw. Force of habit but a good one! You may have the set screw set a touch light. If it's backed out to far it will seem like it pops open.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have one and always put my finger against back of trigger on draw. Force of habit but a good one! You may have the set screw set a touch light. If it's backed out to far it will seem like it pops open.
Hey thanks...at least I know it's working properly. Wondering if all Scott releases are like this? Or at least the single jaw.....I'll adjust the trigger and check it. Much appreciated!

·
Registered
2,037 Posts
Scott releases are awesome....I would agree that you may have it set too hot. I have one of the LBG releases...as well as about 4 other Scott triggers and I do like 'em hot...they won't hold if you make them TOO hot.

G

·
Registered
345 Posts