Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am from north central, pa... i went out earlier to scout a hot spot i have found that has a ridiculous amount of sign year after year... i walk into this area and found about 5 or 6 scrapes in an area the size of your average house... it is only the end of august... most buck are not even out of velvet yet and i have found territory markings... is this normal?? has anyone else found any yet?? this area has been both an area of scrapes and rubs for several years and i have not found any new rubs yet... but i know that these scrapes are very fresh. i hung a scouting camera on one just to see what kind of buck i am dealing with... its my first time with a cam so im excited to see what happens! thanks for reading and responses are appreciated.

russell

·
Registered
1,474 Posts
I have two that are close to my stand that are currently active, but they are in the same place each year, and used year after year. I have not seen a rub yet this season, but with the velvet still on, the antlers a very tender yet, and they will avoid any rubbing or fighting until they are hard horns for awhile.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
oh yeah...

your post reminds me... last night i was scouting another area which would leave me to believe that some are out of velvet... have seen a couple out but most are still in velvet.. i found several heavy, deep prints which are slid and forced deep into the silt... facing one another, which tells me that there were a pair sparring in that spot.. seems a little early for that "horse" play as well... the weather this year has got them a little bit ahead of schedule i think.. we missed the full peak of the rut by a week last year so hopefully we will hit it in full swing this year....

·
Registered
47 Posts