Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm new to bowhunting, and at dusk on Dec. 31 I shot a doe broadside from 20 yards away. My arrow did a complete passthrough, had a lot of thick blood on it, rage 3 blade broadhead used, blades were bent a bit and had some fat on them, and barely a blood trail at all. I came back the next morning, and I was able to track the blood about 100 yards but it took me like 2 hours crawling on my belly. I did circles in out to like 500 yards and couldn't find anything. I don't understand why it's so hard to find these animals, I wish snow was on the ground.

The last doe I shot was also a complete passthrough at dusk a couple weeks ago. I came back the next morning (although getting out of my stand 20 min later spooked the deer and heard her crashing through the woods). There was a lot of blood, and a pretty good blood trail, double lung shot, you could see the spray on both sides where she would stop. I tracked her for about a mile, through the woods across a field, across a street, into my neighbors field. He finally got his bird dog who led us to a pile of fur and blood and guts, I guess the coyotes got her.

I guess I'm just disappointed I have been putting in so much time, and taken advantage of my opportunities, and placed what I have considered to be good shots on these animals, and have yet to enjoy any backstraps or jerky this year. Here are pics of my arrow after its recovery, as well as the only blood about 50 yards from the shot. Any ideas as to why there was no blood trail?

·
Registered
579 Posts
kinda reminds me of gut shot sorry t hear about your luck or you could have shot through both shoulders and not hit any vitals

·
Registered
3,241 Posts
hmmmm.... thats weird. Theres great blood on that arrow too.

Maybe it was the broadheads fault?

lol somebody had too!
just kidding

·
JB WELD PRO STAFFER
13,070 Posts