Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
449 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to be building a string stretcher to get my cables and string back to factory specs.
The cables are pretty strait forward in my mind, use 1/4" posts and twist them to length at 100 lbs. of pressure.
On the string side of things I have 2 questions.
1. Should I remove the peep before I set them to length? I would think so but not sure if it is needed.
2. Should I stick to the twist ratio of 2 twists on bottom of string to 1 twist on top of string?
I am fairly new to tuning my own bows so any accurate advise would be appreciated.

·
Huh?
1,684 Posts
Short answers: Yes remove the peep and it depends.
Tuning has very little to do factory specs. Ive seen factory specs differ from from what was really on the bow a LOT. For my self factory specs are a starting point only.

·
Registered
449 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Short answers: Yes remove the peep and it depends.
Tuning has very little to do factory specs. Ive seen factory specs differ from from what was really on the bow a LOT. For my self factory specs are a starting point only.
Thanks for the reply. This is for a used E35 I purchased that had 28.5" mods that I switched to 29.5" and ended up with an exact 29 5/8" DL. at 62 lbs with 82% let off, I was happy with that.
Then I wanted to try the bow with 30" mods and purchased and had installed by a local shop. I think that was a mistake after watching him at work with a less than desirable draw board. I was not there when he installed the mods. so I dont know how careful he was with keeping the string and cable twists under control but after watching him operate I am thinking maybe not as the bow is drawing a full 1/4' long and I cant quite figure out how to get it where I want.
So my thinking is bring the string and cables back to factory specs and go from there.