Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
I don’t hunt for the sport I hunt for the meat
25,382 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to back tension releases soI apologize if this is a dumb question. I just bought it off a fellow ATer and I just started messing around with it. I was wondering how much pulling I should have to do to set it off it seems like 1 minute its too much I turn a tiny bit then its too little. Is it just my form or do I have to keep adjusting til I find out what is best. Thanks for the help I hope you can understand the question
Thank you

·
Registered
2,288 Posts
Most likely it is form. The Evo is very sensitive to form which is one of the reasons it is such a good trainer. When I was using one I kept thinking something was wrong with it but the more I used it the the more I realized my form was breaking down and the release was fine. I know it's always easier to blame the equiptment but it's usually not the problem. Good luck.

·
Registered
25,382 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Dont get me wrong Im not blaming the release at all Im just trying to get the feel on how to set it up.Whether it should take little pull or a fair amount or if its just preference?

·
aka "5 Spot"
9,756 Posts
It is most likely your consistency (or lack of it). Not being critical, but the documentation that comes with the EVO clearly states that minute changes will not have an effect. The documentation recommends 4 full turns as a single adjustment. Plus, I hate to say it, but the EVO is not known as being the most consistent release out there.

·
Registered
25,382 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It is most likely your consistency (or lack of it). Not being critical, but the documentation that comes with the EVO clearly states that minute changes will not have an effect. The documentation recommends 4 full turns as a single adjustment. Plus, I hate to say it, but the EVO is not known as being the most consistent release out there.