Is there any benefit to two eyes open,,, what do most shoot,,,,,

glen
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

· Registered
364 Posts
tacomadm18,

First off let me start by saying I am not a Pro;

This is my experience only.
I am right handed and right eye dominant, once I was shown to shoot with both eyse open my scores started to really climb and fast.

It did take some getting used to, about a week or two, and every once in a while I will have to close my left to get my right to focus back on the target, then open the left again.

It was explained to me, "with both eyes open, you have better vision in both eyes combined" also, if you are a hunter or 3-D'er you may be able to pick up that twig that is right in front of you or just out of sight of your shooting eye.

A few draw backs I have seen or found. While I was instructing a youth archery leauge, it became clear that not all can do this.
If an archer is right handed but left eye dominant, then you have two options. Change hands or eyes. the hand is easier but the eyes are harder. Or you go with option 3 and simply wear a patch over the dominant eye and use the non-dominant eye. Lots of folks in this situation and a lot of folks shoot very well with an eye patch.

Try what works for you, play with it and see how you like it. My experience, I will continue to shoot with both eyes open.
Again i just want you to know I am no Pro, and I have only been shooting for 17yrs, I am sure some one will blow holes through all my experiences and tell you I am nuts...they may be right, they may not just pay attention to who is posting the info.:wink:

The Toad!

· Registered
533 Posts
both eyes

hi i guess ive been lucky ive been shooting for 30 years lots of target and 3d i shoot r-h and are left eye dom everybody says its impossible but have been doing it all my life .how do i do it beats me but im living proof it can be done

· Registered
487 Posts