Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Due to a multiple finger injury, I have had to start shooting my recurve with a D-loop and release. I know that's a dirty untraditional sin. Just wondered if anyone has any experience with this? How they set up their tiller, and tuned? Thanks

·
Registered
20,760 Posts
I -

First, get the word tiller out of your head.
You will basically be tuning your bow as if it were a compound, meaning fairly close to center shot, and then use standard paper tuning rules, but keep the frame about 5' from the bow. You will most likely need a stiffer arrow than expected.

Viper1 out.

·
Registered
4,453 Posts
Don't know if you read that or someone told you that, but regardless how you acquired that misinformation it qualifies for the "BS Award." I started shooting (hunting with) recurves in 1964 and back then there were recurve bow hunters that were using release aids that were generally used by target shooters shooting target bows. For a longtime my brother and I used the "Model B "Hotshot." We evolved to using the "Hotshot" because of extreme cold weather and could wear warm gloves and stay at the ready on the release.

There were recurve hunters that also used the rope release and the tension release. I tried the tension release and immediately ****-canned it when I ended up with a bloody nose when drawing.

When using a "D" loop keeping in mind it will reduce your draw length and also reduce draw poundage. Also, using a release will reduce the paradox of your shaft, requiring that the window of the bow you are using should (best) be cut-past-center.

·
Registered
4,453 Posts
I know that's a dirty untraditional sin