Archery Talk Forum banner

Shot placement

1546 Views 24 Replies 16 Participants Last post by  buckyforever
Hey, this is my first time posting on this site and I'm also a first time bowhunter. I have a question that I can't figure out.

I bought my first bow back in the winter and all spring and summer I've been practicing my butt off. By time the season rolled around I felt confident I could take a deer as far as 40 yards. So the other night, a small 6 point walked out under my stand at just under 20 yards. It was getting low light but I still could see him very well. I waited until he was standing broadsided, and I a placed my 20 yard pin just behind his left shoulder and fired. I heard the arrow hit.

The deer turned and ran into the woods. I waited to hear a crash, but it never came. After a few minutes I climbed down and went to the spot I shot the deer. I found no blood, but about 10 yards away I found my arrow, snapped into. The broadhead had a small amount of tissue on it and some hair, but no blood. The broadhead itself was in perfect condition, no sctatches or dings. The shaft had a fatty substance on it, but again, not a large amount of blood.

That was it, that's all I found. No blood trail or anything. I searched for the deer until midnight, when my flashlight finally gave up.

Anybody, know what happened? I feel bad about wounding one and not finding it. How did I not hit any vital organs? Did the arrow pass through muscle? How is it there was no blood? How is it that the braodhead was is such pristeene condition? I can't figure it out. Thanks for any comments or advice.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
2,946 Posts
Sounds like you hit the shoulder and didnt get enough penetration.

· Registered
4,052 Posts