Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im fairly new to the sport and i think its the only thing keeping me sane since ive been laid off i shoot vegas 450 indoor and would like to improve my acuracy my arrows are easton x7 eclipse 2114 4 in. plastiflech at a 2 degree offset my question is would it make any difference if i stripped them down and water balanced them the determine the cock feather

please ill be asking alot more advice on archery
thank you

·
Registered
6,653 Posts
Probably won't make any difference, especially on an X7. You can get similar results by numbering your arrows and then paying close attention to where those arrows impact/group on the target. I don't mean literally shoot all the arrows at a single spot to see how they group. Rather, on the Vegas face shoot the same numbered arrow at the same numbered Vegas spot and after several ends observe if one of the arrows is hitting a different part of the spot compared to the others. If so, try that arrow at one of the other Vegas spots for a few ends and observe if it is still hitting offcenter similar to before changing up the order. If yes, then rotate the nock to orient a different feather to be the cock feather and repeat. Usually you should be able to get an errant arrow to group as well as the rest just by turning the nock, provided the arrow is not bent. Generally I can rotate my nocks to orient any of the 3 feathers/vanes on an Easton X7 and have them hit consistently in the center, but there are an occasional couple out of a dozen where the nock alignment does make a difference.