Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went to an archery club last night (being the only girl there it was kind of nerve wracking but anyway).

So I was handed an 18lb recurve and shown the basics, stance, form etc.... Since Im a beginner I wasnt too shocked to get an 18lb... but everybody else in the club where shooting similar(ish) bow pounds (even the ones shooting 3 and 4 years). Then I was given a lecture on how anything higher and Im doing damage to my back and muscles....

So Im left wondering now about all these compounders who shoot 60lb and maybe ever higher? At first I thought it would just be a matter of building up to it.... but the archers there after 4 years are only on 30lb..?? What am I missing?

·
Registered
9,265 Posts
:confused: :bs:

:izza:

·
Registered
2,792 Posts
I shot my first recurve in about 30 years, the other night. I shoot 70 lbs, with a 27" draw on a compound bow.

The recurve was a 45 lb draw, rated at a 28" drawlength. I couldn't get the string to even touch my face! I was about 3" from my face, that was all I could pull.

Compounds and traditional equipment are very different styles of shooting. The recurve I shot was a "shorter" bow, so the the weight "stacked" or built up very quick towards the end of the draw, compared to most compounds.

The draw weight issue was probably a good thing. If you start out light you can develop good form and habits that you won't have if you are over-bowed.

45 lbs on a compound is nothing, 45 lbs on that recurve was a hernia waiting to happen!:)

·
Registered
2,795 Posts