Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
SMH
1,947 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the field/FITA archery game and I have a question for those who use a blade rest with skinny shafts.

Do you trim the blade to minimize fletching contact?

Do you use an un-modified blade that is narrower at the tip?

Do you use a softer blade than your indoor setup?

The reason I ask is that I see a lot of shooters using blades and skinnies with vane residue all over the blade tip. Some are so-so shooters and some are the guys that shoot better than me in my class. I look at my arrows and there is not a blade made that would avoid fletching contact. (I'm not helping things either with 3 degrees helical but they fly real nice)

I installed a drop away on my bow and even with a limb clamp I have to maintain it regularly and it's becoming kind of a PIA.

I've shot other bows with fletching contact and accuracy out to 50yds seemed unaffected but one would assume that any contact is detrimental to consistent accuracy, right? What do you use and what is your experience?

·
Registered
1,076 Posts
I shoot Carbon Ones from an AAE ProBlade with .008" Freak width (.150") blade. There is no vane residue on my blade, but slight wear at the edges of the blade where the black finish has begun to fade. The vanes do touch the blade (which is normal) which flexes out of the way.
Blades.jpg