• Slate

Votes: 60 63.2%
  • Glass

Votes: 35 36.8%
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
I prefer slate as I find it easier to tune the striking surface so I can get a wider range of sounds and "pop" behind certain types of calls like hard cutts and putts.

·
Registered
21 Posts
I voted for slate b/c that is what I have/use. Never tried the others. My wife went shopping and I told her to pick me up a friction call. She came back with a Primos Jackpot slate call. Said it looked like something I would like. Thanks honey.

I was told is that if a slate call gets wet due to rain, it won't sound like its supposed to. Is that right? My cousin uses an aluminum call/metal striker and says rain won't affect how it works.

Terry

·
Retired GI "still serv'n"
13,960 Posts
This is my first year EVER trying to Turkey hunt and I was given both a slate and glass calls from a fine member here on a trade......

To me it seems like the slate works best or should I say "easier to get a good sound from", but then again it might just be me.

·
Registered
1,266 Posts
How about both in one? I always have a double sided pot in my vest, glass one side and slate on the other. IMO the two back to back sound better anyways...;)

·
Registered
2,663 Posts
I use a glass with slate on the back... Like the sound of the glass better.

·
Registered
10,204 Posts
I like the glass better, crystal to be exact. I can turn the volume up for locating those mid-day gobblers with it, or turn it down for close calling. Glass with a carbon striker really gets out there. Its a little more difficult to run, but sounds great and is VERY loud.

the slate is better for close in calling and sounds a little more natural, little easier to get a natural turkey sound also, but I usually switch over to a mouth call when closing the deal those last 50 yards or so.

·
Registered
212 Posts
Slate, glass, aluminum. i prefer what ever the toms are answering to on any given day. that's why I have one of each in my vest.