Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started shooting 100 gr. magnums last year. The only deer i shot was a doe at 8 yards but no pass thru. It only went 30yrds and the lungs were pretty much liquified when i field dressed it. Im shooting 305fps with 29 inch arrows btw. I was just wondering if anyone else had penetration problems with these.

·
74,535 Posts
I have yet to stick a deer with one. Im shooting 280 fps with Goldtip XT 75/95XT

Attachments

·
Registered
6,317 Posts
Not at all.... even when I was shooting less than 40lbs I always had pass-throughs with slicktricks. Anywhere from 20-35yds. Sure you didn't hit the opposite shoulder or something?

·
Registered
742 Posts
used grizztricks last year and it blew right through my buck at like 13 yards from the treestand, heres pics

entrance

exit, grizztrick cut the leg bone in half

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Itwas a broadside shot entering about the middle of the rib cage and ending up near the ribs on the opposite side. May have hit ribs but no shoulder im sure.

·
Registered
622 Posts
I started shooting 100 gr. magnums last year. The only deer i shot was a doe at 8 yards but no pass thru. It only went 30yrds and the lungs were pretty much liquified when i field dressed it. Im shooting 305fps with 29 inch arrows btw. I was just wondering if anyone else had penetration problems with these.