Archery Talk Forum banner

small Oregon Elk Hunting Video

1721 Views 25 Replies 5 Participants Last post by  ELKhuntR
It's not much but still, it's music to my ears. the fact I ended the season with a tag in my pocket still hurts but overall, I learned a lot about my area and cannot wait until this year. sorry for the shakiness!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DKaw7TMcxyA
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

· Registered
3,979 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
every year I learn something huge and this past year it was:

I don't think I'll ever set up behind a pine tree or tree again. And, when they get close and see no animals, watch out, unless you have a caller behind you, and you're that close, it seems dang tough to bring them in. The big guys anyways. I've been chasing the second bull now for 4 years. He's huge!!!!! I had more video of him one morning but ended up deleting it in a frenzy trying to shut my camera off.

· Registered
973 Posts
great area. Never have hunted down there. you've got some monster blackies down there! I know that
Lot of Blackies, some elk and a lot of turkey.

Maybe in a few years when I have more time we could do some trade, I'll take you blacktail hunting in one of our stands and you take us elk hunting in the Strawberries or Elkhorns maybe even the Wallowas:wink: jk with ya.

· Registered
973 Posts
Is Bend all open country or are there any trees and forested area??? I can whack all the cow elk I want down here. I just want a bull with my bow :wink: I'm going to PM you so it saves your name, we'll keep in touch.... There are a lot of elk in private lands down here... I have like 4 people that will give me cow permits for damage... I think you can only get one legally a year... But heck thats all I need. One elk, one deer, 2 turkey usually a bear and I go to wyoming and shoot 2 doe antelope= like 400 lbs of meat or more! :wink: expect a Pm and good luck this season!

· Registered
3,979 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·