Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8,533 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does the smell of smoke from a campfire spook deer and elk?

Does it cover up human scent some?

·
Registered
768 Posts
Elkarcher,

I recently read an article in Bowhunt America about the topic. According to the author, native americans use to actually build small fires to attract deer and elk to ground blinds. They claim that the curiosity of these animals will draw them towards the fire from the smoke scent. Once they find the fire the will walk around it kind of mezmerized like a moth to a light. The article also stated that certain kinds of wood like white pine actually provide scent when burned that attracts animals. The smoke was also used to mask human scent. The moose seemed to be less reluctant to come close to the fire. However, it was said deer would come very close.

This is what I read, I have no experience with the method.

·
Registered
8,533 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
SpotShy said:
Elkarcher,

I recently read an article in Bowhunt America about the topic. According to the author, native americans use to actually build small fires to attract deer and elk to ground blinds. They claim that the curiosity of these animals will draw them towards the fire from the smoke scent. Once they find the fire the will walk around it kind of mezmerized like a moth to a light. The article also stated that certain kinds of wood like white pine actually provide scent when burned that attracts animals. The smoke was also used to mask human scent. The moose seemed to be less reluctant to come close to the fire. However, it was said deer would come very close.

This is what I read, I have no experience with the method.
I have heard this too, just wondered if any one knew for sure.

·
Registered
768 Posts
JF,