Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay,

I have been shooting wood bows for 2 years barebow. I am a gap shooter and the shop I shoot at has told me that I am no longer allowed to purchase another hunting recurve to compete. This very accomplished compound shooter told me to compete I need to get an olympic rig. So, I have currently a tiburon (same thing as a gamemaster) with carbon inserts to dampen the noise. I shoot it with a champion II rest 50lb draw weight at my draw I can also hold it for a while. Now I am interested in an olympic rig, but the riser I have will accept a ILF limb with a bushing change. Should I save up(buy limbs for the riser I have?) and get a really nice hoyt or get the kap winstar II to start with? Also, what competitions do they have for me and my shooting style. Traditional?Barebow? or All of them? Can you shoot with a elevated rest in the traditional category? I really want to compete being that hunting is becoming a expensive habit as of lately. I figure if I am not going to hunt as much then I can shoot in competitions.

Thanks in advance for any advice!!
fingershooter

·
Registered
964 Posts
Sounds to me like this compound shooter wants to sell you a new bow! NAA offers barebow classes at most shoots. The potential problem is that there are a very limited number of barebow shooters, so if you are good, you can end up being a big fish in a small pond, whereas in Olympic recurve, you most likely will end up being a small fish in a big pond.