Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello i am new to archery,
i am going to start with a recurve bow
basically my draw length is 28inches, would a 62inch bow (length of bow from top to bottom) be an okay bow size for me, if not, then what would you reccomend?
Thanks!

·
Registered
3,353 Posts
Hello.

Just shooting off the hip, and knowing nothing about you, if you have a genuine and properly-measured 28" draw length (on a lightweight bow with an arrow and decently-aligned face anchor, rather than the mathematical, hand-span, calculation formula), then a 62" bow should do the trick for you. Shorter draw than that, still fine. Longer draw than that, possibly moving to a longer bow.

That said, if you present more info about yourself and what you intend to do with your archery so that the folks here can really sink their teeth into your desires, you may find that many of their suggestions open up some different perspective for your initial bow contemplation.

Here are two excellent sticky-threads worth reading so as to stuff a bit more under your thinking-cap:

http://www.archerytalk.com/vb/showthread.php?t=1588147
A generic, first bow discussion.

http://www.archerytalk.com/vb/showthread.php?t=388848
A draw weight discussion.

Holler back with more questions as they arise.

Good luck.

·
Registered
89 Posts