Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,724 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been shooting .390 or .400 spined arrows since I started shooting 60lb limbs a few years ago. I currently shoot a 29" Z7 set at 61lbs and .390 spined Easton ACC Pro hunters cut to 29.5" and 100gr broadheads. I haven't had too many problems getting my set-up to paper tune but I'm right in-between a .340 and .400 spine on all the charts.

Should I be shooting .340? If add the 23gr insert to the Easton shaft selector chart (125gr total point weight) it recommends I shoot .340.

I have a 60lb MR7 on the way. I'm guessing it will be at least 62lbs buttoned all the way down. Even at 60 it will be a bit faster than my current set-up. Should I stick with the lighter .390 or go to the .340?

·
Come on October!!!!
3,033 Posts
If it tunes "down the middle" and the BH and FP are impacting together stay with what you have. How good are the groups at 20, 30 and 40...consistent? If it was me I would jump up but I have always favored arrows on the stiff side....29.5" arrows do not help, maybe you can cut an existing arrow down some and see how it reacts instead of buying new arrows? I'm shooting a 28" arrow with 29.25" DL....I'm also shooting 72# and 300 spine arrows. Just commenting on the arrow length...

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
If u want to cut them @ 29.5" and shoot closer to 60lbs I would definitely go with the .340's. If you cut them @ 28" and shot around 55 the 400's should be fine....but seeing how they shoot is the only answer.

Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,724 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
They shoot good but could be better. I can keep 5 arrows in a 4-6" group at 40 and 50 yards consistently, usually better. I probably should shoot shorter arrows though...

·
Premium Member
10,922 Posts