Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am very new to bow hunting and last season I lost my only deer I have ever taken a shot at. I hit him a little further back than I wanted, but he ran off with my arrow stuck in his rib cage and the blood trail went cold after 70 yards. I am sure there are several contributing factors to why the deer didn't drop, but I have lost confidence in the rage 2-blade chisel tip that I used. I understand that countless others have luck with this broadhead, but if no other reason than my mental game I want to switch to a fixed broadhead and so far these are my two top choices. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

·
Registered
51,147 Posts
Your loss was not due to the broadhead! It was due to shot placement. A different broadhead would not have changed the out come.

·
Banned
2,099 Posts
My friend, it’s something we all dread and something none of us want to happen. However anyone who has Bow hunted long enough if they are honest has lost a deer.

I started out using fixed broad heads, I like slick tricks my self and have killed a pile of deer with slick trick 100 grain magnums. They make a little noise in flight but not one deer has ever complained about it.

In 2014 I lost the largest whitetail buck I have ever shot, he was broadside at 17 yards when I drew on him, as I came down on him and was settled in he turned and looked right at me, I panicked and shot low knowing he was going to duck the string, as he ducked I released the arrow which hit him high above the shoulder cup (shoulder blade) I was shooting a Swhacker broad head. It was not the broad heads fault however I lost all confidence in the broad head, so I know how you feel and understand what you are saying. Having confidence in what you are shooting makes a world of difference.