Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First post and hoping someone can point me in the right direction. Visited several local archery stores and was not impressed with selection or knowledge regarding traditional archery.

I would like a longbow or recurve in the $300 range for hunting and target shooting. Any recommendations? I'm new to bow shooting so any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Robert

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
Read as much as you can so you understand draw length and draw weight and how it will effect your choices in bow length.
Then search the classifieds and eBay. You should be able to find two bows for that.
One light enough for target and one in a hunting weight.
That or buy a takedown, or ILF rig so you can set it up with different length and weight limbs for whatever you need it to do.

·
Registered
13 Posts
What was already suggested above about draw length but I don't know about getting two bows for $300 ? I guess it depends on the quality you are looking for. I wouldn't start off very heavy, learm form first, and that's going to take awhile, don't rush it and in the long run you won't regret it !

Good luck, and welcome to the light side of the force, just kidding.

·
Civil but Disobedient
7,248 Posts
I would stick to something new, or used from a trusted source for a first bow. eBay can be good for a first bow if you get some help from someone that knows bows. Even then, there are no guarantees that the bow will be shootable. There are a lot of sellers who pick up bows but know nothing about them.