Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been shooting for almost a couple years now with my Hoyt Faktor 30. Gotten to the point where I can consistently put a 3-5 arrow group within 2" at 20 yards and 4-5" at 40 yards if not better sometimes. I haven't had a problem shooting left or right to any extent more than just not shooting properly and called misses.

I went to a video tech hunt at my local pro-shop for the first time today and about half way I fired and "explosion." My strings came off. They didn't bust, they came off the rail. I don't death grip and don't think I did during the hunt and had been very accurate up until that point. I'm not sure how they could have come off without death gripping and torquing the bow. I went downstairs and the pro-staffer took a look, the bow looked good, the strings looked good and he re-installed them. He added a new peep sight as mine wasn't tied in and fell out and I wanted an aluminum peep anyway. He timed it again, all was good. Went back up, sighted in, was two inches high, dead center still, made one adjustment and dead on at 20 yards.

My question/concerns. Should I be worried about the strings that blew off? He seemed to think they would be fine, and said I likely torqued it and just got lucky that two parts of the string were still holding tension (newbie kind of so not sure what part this was).

Any concerns with the bow even though it didn't crack?

·
Registered
1,876 Posts