Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Afternoon all!

So, as my post count would indicate, I am pretty new to this sport, loving it though!

Quick question, I see most archers at my local club with a pouch on their belts, it looks like they carry around a release aid inside.

I cannot understand why? I put mine in my pocket, or, since its a thumb release, I lock it onto my string and leave it there, and carry the bow around like that.

But it dawned on me, that 90% of people have one, so perhaps I am missing the importance of this?

I apologize in advance if this is a stupid question. :)

·
Registered
7,992 Posts
Afternoon all!

So, as my post count would indicate, I am pretty new to this sport, loving it though!

Quick question, I see most archers at my local club with a pouch on their belts, it looks like they carry around a release aid inside.

I cannot understand why? I put mine in my pocket, or, since its a thumb release, I lock it onto my string and leave it there, and carry the bow around like that.

But it dawned on me, that 90% of people have one, so perhaps I am missing the importance of this?

I apologize in advance if this is a stupid question. :)
One guy shows up with one on week one.... by week two almost everyone else has one. It’s that archery thing!

Do your own thing, be your own brand of man......(or woman, whatever the case may be)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ah ok, good!

So it's just a trend, and there's no real reason?

Works for me, one less thing I have to buy :)

Thank you.

·
Registered
2,693 Posts
Because pants pockets are tight and are not quick to get a release in or out of. They have that pouch so that they can put release in there, without struggle, nock the next arrow, then grab the release and hook on. And repeat. In a competition you don't want to be on the line fumbling to get a release out of your pants pocket.

·
Registered