Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just ordered a Cannon G30 for self-filming bow hunts. I am looking for suggestions on accessories used. I want to buy a shotgun mic, but not sure if I should go with a Rode and XLR add on, or the Cannon DM-100? I want to get a controller, a fluid head, a tree arm, extra battery, rain cover, SD cards, and software. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. I am new to the site and have found it very informative (ultimately why I went with the G30 is from reading feedback on this site). This is my first time posting. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the links bgbowhunter! You just saved me a ton of time. I used to self-film bow hunts about 20 years ago and have always wanted to get back into it with today's technologies. I am really looking forward to the G30. I also have kids in hockey, so it should be a good family investment. How is Sony Vega for movie making?

·
Registered
11,289 Posts
Azden SMX-10 shotgun
Manfrotto 128RC Head
Muddy Outfitter arm
Varizoom VZ Rock LE LANC. Look on ebay dont pay full price new!
Any of the Benro tripods are good or Manfrotto

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Azden SMX-10 shotgun
Manfrotto 128RC Head
Muddy Outfitter arm
Varizoom VZ Rock LE LANC. Look on ebay dont pay full price new!
Any of the Benro tripods are good or Manfrotto
Thanks flinginairos! What editing software do you use? I have read Adobe Premier Pro is good but pricey. Looking for something cheaper that works well.

·
Registered
577 Posts
We really like either Rode or Sennheiser microphones. An XLR would be preferred, but then that means you'll need another piece of equipment to interface it with your camera.

Manfrotto is the name for tripods and fluid heads. Both effective and reasonable price.

Varizoom LANC controller

Good luck and post some videos when you get the camera rolling!

·
Hunt Smart!!
1,465 Posts