Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,
So I'm going to be getting some Gold Tip Triple X pro target arrows soon which I will be using for indoor target archery at 20yds and I have absolutely no idea what I should go with for vanes on these things. There just seems to be SOOOO many variations in the vanes that are available so any help or advice is highly appreciated. If there tends to be a really common one that most archers tend to use then that's also something I would love to know.
Thank you very much.

·
Registered
635 Posts
I'll offer my two cents although I'm no expert. I've found either 3-4" vanes or feathers to be my go to and a lot of other's as well. Currently I'm running Fusion X 3" vanes. Really like the helical I can get with them and their low profile allows for good clearance.

·
Registered
735 Posts
Indoor at 20 yards, I typically go with 4 inch, shield cut feathers all day long. Really what you're striving for at that distance is fletching that will stabilize the arrow in flight as fast as possible. The only con I've found with feathers over the years is you have to watch your vane clearance. I've had some bows where I've had poor vane clearance after tuning and had to go to a low profile vane to avoid contact with my cables (my past PSE moneymaker comes to mind).

·
Registered
9,745 Posts
4" feathers

·
Registered
17,693 Posts
2X^ also.

·
Registered
2,634 Posts
4" parabolic Gateway feathers

·
Back Yard Champion
27,716 Posts
More of personal preference thing. Bow tuned you can shoot Xs with a bare shaft. Bow tuned well then only thing left is spin. Spin adds stability which aids accuracy, repeatability and all that good stuff. So offset as steep as possible, usually 3 degrees at best, or helical.