Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been bowhunting for 20 years and I really enjoy archery. I've decided that I want to set up a target bow. I don't know anything about target sights and scopes, target stabilizers and counter weights and I have know idea where to start looking for shoots. Anyone that can help, would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Any one?

·
Banned
1,744 Posts
The answer to your question is too long. Everything is a matter of opinion from which target bow to stab and sight. Generally though, target bows are longer ata so pick something at least 38" or longer. Most target shooters use an expensive sight like a sure loc with a scope. As far as stabilizers, you can go short like a 12" b-stinger or long like a 36" Doinker Carbon Elite and there is just as much flexibility on the v-bars too. I suggest going to a pro shop that specializes in target archery, not hunting setups and get help from them.

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That's good info, but I don't know of any pro shops that even stock any target stuff. All of the shops that I know of only stock a few hunting items.

·
Registered
3,852 Posts
The bow = You should look into bows with longer ATA . Preferably 50-60 lb , no need for more poundage. This will get you all the way out to 90m . I will not recommend any bow company - try a few , let the bow pick You. The let-off somewhere between 55-75 % is most common for target shooters, it all depends on the type of release you prefer and so on.

The sight = single pin for field shooting and spots , 5 pin for 3-d ( faster bow in that case to close the gap in between pins/ yardage ). You can also build a hybrid target scope ex: sureloc supreme with 9" extension bar and 4.5" vertical slide. Have a single pin/scope housing for field shoots and a 5pin housing for 3-d . You can swap housings depending on a shoot you choose.