Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have always suffered through target panic. Get locked off target and punch trigger. I have went through Joel Turner’s Clinic and just can’t seem to get a surprise release with a caliber trigger release. It’s finally time to try a back tension release. I’ve never used one, all the Carter ones recommended are $200 plus dollars and I don’t even know if it will work for me. I am a hunter first and foremost, so I have no interest in target shooting with a back tension release if I can’t utilize it in the woods. Please help, what should I get? Is there a huge difference in back tension releases? I am a college student, don’t really want to buy a release that costs more than I paid for my bow, lol. (2009 Mathews Switchback LD).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Shootin and Cussin
22,930 Posts
A mechanical device will NEVER cure target panic. The panic will go away somewhat but will come back with a vengeance.

Find yourself a good, certified coach.

·
Registered
Isaiah 6:8
939 Posts
yeah like SHPoet said, that TP is all mental. You need to find a way to let your mind be okay with your pin in the middle of the target without feeling the urge to get the shot off asap. you can fire any release with back tension. i hunt with an index release and everything else is with my thumb button. with my index release i come to anchor and wrap my finger around the trigger and trying to get the trigger at my first knuckle, so shorten the head of the barrel about as far as it will go. Keep that finger "hooked" around the trigger and simply just pull your elbow at an object behind you. i would literally turn around and look for something to pull my elbow towards, it helped me. with my thumb button i come to anchor and wrap my thumb around the barrel of the trigger, i let my other fingers relax while keeping my thumb stationary, then i just pull my elbow straight back till the release breaks.