Archery Talk Forum banner

target rest question

464 Views 17 Replies 8 Participants Last post by  donedealtim
I just put a golden key futura infinity rest on my target bow. My first question is how the heck do you shoot with it without looking like a ****** because your arrow falls off! lol! Its about an 8th of an inch wide. I have never used one before and only tried it because it came with the bow. Any help would be appreciated.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
771 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
nope

If its falling off the rest then you most likely have some nock pinch. Seperate those d-loop knots so there not so snug on the nock.
Its not too tight there its just im not used to being so careful trying to pull back my bow. Whoever thought of shooting off such a skinny rest must be more graceful than me!

· Registered
771 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
?

Does it really help to use that kind of rest? Im suppose to shoot a tourney this weekend and im gonna look stupid! lol! I was using a limbdriver and was shooting great but I HAD to tinker! I think I might have to switch to the two prong rest.

· Registered
899 Posts
The rest is not going to make you more accurate, but it cant misfire like on a drop away rest there is a chance it not working correctly and with top shooters winning by single points theres no room for mistakes like the rest not working right.

· Registered
771 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
practice

The rest is not going to make you more accurate, but it cant misfire like on a drop away rest there is a chance it not working correctly and with top shooters winning by single points theres no room for mistakes like the rest not working right.
Guess I better practice a lot this week so it doesnt happen too much this weekend! Thats why I switched because I wanted something that didnt move. I hope I get the hang of it.

· Registered
1,878 Posts
The rest is a great rest---
there are many launchers that you can use with it to control the shaft