Archery Talk Forum banner

the new archery vs the old archery

765 Views 9 Replies 10 Participants Last post by  AT_X_HUNTER
The other night at league I reflected on where archery is now and where it was. I was asked how long that i have been shooting and why i shoot no sights and fingers. I politely said that my sight had broke and that i could not afford a new one so i just changed my bow around so that i could keep shooting because i love archery. But i thought back and remembered when a 300 score was SPECIAL and there was many different styles of shooting. Now 90% of the sport are release shooters and with the new stuff 300 scores are common and a 60x is not rare o i am not saying that it does not take skill because it does but I am just saying that a part of archery has died and it kind of made me sad. I don't have any new stuff so it was easy to change a rest on my 48" ata hoyt and keep shooting. I have been shooting since 1984 and I have had the honor of meeting many great people
in this sport. Like the day when i was shooting at st. louis archery club
and Earl Hoyt came up to me and said that i was doing reel good shooting
my recurve and on the last day of club shoot i was awarded a traveling trophy with Earl as a past winner but also pop Hoyt. I still get chills thinking about it.
I would like to read some stories from the rest of you on your archery memories.
Happy Thanksgiving!!!!
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
4,883 Posts