Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
533 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Do you think that just because the competition shoots (pro shooters) use a bow it makes it best? Do you think if all pro archers used say bear bows they would be more popular? Are pro's just using mathews/hoyt/bowtech because that's who pays them?

·
Registered
723 Posts
no if i was a pro i would go for the fame first money second. and i would shoot what ever bow is going to get me there and if you are that good you are going to get paid

·
Registered
3,412 Posts
I think the TOP pros wouldn't shoot something they didn't think would provide them the highest quality and best possible chances of shooting their best scores. That being said, I do think there is an advantage to buying the BEST equipment you can, not necessarily the most expensive, just whatever is the best for the individual.

Of course, if they can get paid to shoot for a company like Hoyt, that consistently puts out some of the most respected target bows, why wouldn't they. It would take a lot of money for one of the top pros to start shooting a Bear Truth 2 I would assume. No slant at Bear, they make great hunting bows.

·
Registered
6,078 Posts
I have shot in the ASA Open Pro class and I can tell you that money talks and you know the rest. This isnt 100% true all of the time, but close. If Mathews and Hoyt decided to cut 100% of their tournament funding and lets say that Bear offered to pay all expenses plus double winnings, then what do you think would happen. We shoot for fun and for the love of the sport, but at the end of the day its all about money. Pretty much just common sense.

Most want to shoot a bow that they like best for sure, but most can shoot well with almost any top bow.

What makes a bow a top of the line bow is the quality of the parts. Nothing else. A bow is the sum of really only a few parts. The best parts equals the best bow if you take away the human preferences.

·
Registered