Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3,499 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone ever use the formaster?Is this device for finger shooting only?
Started punching recently,so I'm going back to bt.This time of year I'm able to put in some good training so I guess I'm going to put in some serious sessions.
I read about this device in Rick McKinneys book,but he doesn't get real specific.
I guess I should get a training moon for my zenith too.Someone on here had a good idea about keeping identical releases in his pouch(one with a full moon) and during sessions wouldn't know which one he grabbed.
Back to the blank bail again...............bummer.
Maybe this time I'd better do it right.I didn't cross train enough and am paying the price now.
Thanks,Jerry

·
Registered
195 Posts
I have a formaster, shoot a recurve, and have found it to be very useful in helping me maintain form after the shoot and focus more on a rigid frame and follow through rather than focusing and anticipating my release. I imagine it could benefit a compound shooter, but have no experience to prove so. Good Luck.

MatrixMan

·
Registered
238 Posts
Formaster

Jerry,

The Formaster is an excellent training device. It is elegance in its simplicity. Simply attach the device to your bowstring and slip it over your drawing elbow. (you do need to adjust it to fit you .) Then draw your bow aim at a target and shoot. With a compound it is not necessary to load an arrow.

The Formaster will give you instant input to the weak areas of your form. For instance if you collapsing after the shot, it will be HUGELY evident as your bow arm and draw arm follow the bow to a central location.

The Formaster also includes a very through booklet regarding it’s use, setup and how to analyze the results. I am convinced that the bulk of the price is for the booklet as you could build the device yourself for about $5.00 with some change back. The information in the booklet is well worth the $40.00 approx.