Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
328 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi i recently purchased a Samick Sage 45# @ 28". Im new to traditional archery. My next step is picking up the right arrows. Then whats the steps from there? I heard of bareshaft tuning? Not sure what it is ive read a little about it. Is it basically the same thing as paper tuning? I used to paper tune with my compound. Im just OCD (obsessive compulsive) and want the best and straightest arrow flight and setup. Any comments appreciated.

·
Banned
7,677 Posts
I would order a single .600 spine and a single .500 spine carbon arrow from Lancaster archery supply. One of these will work depending on the weight tips you use and how long you leave them. If you are drawing past 28" you might need a .400 spine.

What I do is shoot bareshaft until I get an arrow shooting well. If you are right handed and a bareshaft flies nock right - the arrow is too stiff - you can fix this by using a heavier tip, using a weaker spined arrow, or using the same spine but keeping it longer. If the arrow flies nock left - the arrows are too weak - you can fix this by using a lighter tip, shortening the arrow, or using a siffer spined arrow.

when you bareshaft - don't worry about impact - watch or have someone else watch the arrow in flight - also start with your nock point high - after you get the nock left/right issues solved then slowly move your nock point down till you get rid of most or all of the nock high flight - the reason for this is that a nock too low can give false nock right/left readings.

After you get an arrow flying right bareshaft - then I fletch them and shoot thorugh paper from 6-8 feet away and make minor adjustments in nock point location and silencer placement - if the arrow tears the paper nock right (too stiff) - move the silencers closer to the tips of the limbs - if it tears nock left (too weak) move the silencers closer to the nock point or center of the string.

good luck

·