Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am currently tuning my new Bowtech 101st and I am having to do opposite of what Eastman says. Does that mean something is wrong?

I will give you some background. I have a Bowtech 101st. I am shooting a 30 inch draw at 70 pounds. I am using Goldtip 7595 arrows with a 100 gr tip. I am using the NAP quicktune 360 rest. I am also using a D-loop with a scott release. I have been shooting for 14 years so I have some bad habbits, but I know to look for them.

I was paper tuning my 101st for the first time a couple of days ago and I consistently got a 1 1/2 inch tear up and left. I followed all the recommended adjustments in the Eastmans tuning guide and I could not get it better. It only got worse. So I decided to bare shaft tune the bow. At 20 yards, the bare shafts were hitting 8 inches right and 8 inches low. This meant I had two problems. The manual said to adjust the up/down first and then side to side. It said to move my nock down. I did and it made the bare shaft even further away. So I kept playing with it and it turned out I had to move the nock up to make the arrow go up. To get them to group together at 20 yards, I had to move my nock from 1/8" above center to 3/8" above center. The left and right worked according to the manual.

My main questions are:

Why did I have to go opposite to the manual? Does that mean there is something else wrong?

Is 3/8" above center too high for a nock point?

· Back Yard Champion
35,903 Posts
With 3/8" high string nock there is the possibility that your bow is not tuned correctly - cam rotation, sync, timing. A lot of today's bows are closer to zero nock height.

· Registered
444 Posts
I would try to start over and set everything dead center and dead square and see what happens and start from scatch, but thats just me,