Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,255 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Tonight I started to really tune a new bow. I got it perfect thru paper, but when I walked back tuned I needed to move my rest a little more... So then I shot it thru paper and I had a right tear. So which is more important???? I am not a pro tuner just trying to learn how... Hopefully I will be able to buy a press and make a draw board here in the future...

·
Registered
47,473 Posts
First off, was this good tears at multiple distances? If not, then go back to it and work it until it does.

Secondly, is your sight levelled properly and were you using the bubble while walkback tuning? 'Cause if not all you did was de-tune your bow. That right tear would put bare shafts and broadheads to the left of field point tipped arrows, so this means the bow is NOT tuned, regardless of the WB results.

I'd suggest just getting the good tears, levelling the sight in both 2nd and 3rd axis then checking with bareshafts and/or broadheads to verify. Walkback isn't very precise and it doesn't offer much insight into how well your arrows are flying, as you just noticed.

·
Registered
2,269 Posts
Paper tune with wax paper, it will show the slightest tear. I personally paper tune to a perfect bullet hole at 6ft. I check it once in a while just to see at between 8-10 ft. Past that 10 ft. mark, the arrow's fletching's start taking control. I believe the reading you get at 6 ft. is the most important. At 8-10ft, sometimes the arrow's varience in spine will show a completley different tear than you had at 6ft. I get all my arrows shooting a perfect bullet hole at 6ft. If you have a couple of arrows that for whatever reason will not bullet hole with the rest of the dozen, take and index your arrow nock ( turn your arrow so you have a different cock vane pointing up). By doing this, you will find a position where it should bullet hole with the rest of your arrows.