Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
665 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm far from an expert tuner, and I'm looking for some advice getting rid of a nock low bareshaft. I have a Hoyt Rx-1 Turbo @70.8 lbs with the limb bolts all the way in. 29.5 inch draw. Arrows are Gold Tip kinetic pierce platinum .300 spine @28.5 inches. 125 grain field points and 470 grain overall. Center shot is set to 7/8". Arrow is currently going straight through the berger hole. Cams are dead on. I took all of the cam lean out after failing to tune with a little in.

I've tried multiple bare shafts. I've raised and lowered both the arrow rest and nocking point. I can get bare shafts to hit the same POI with fletched at 20 yds, but there is a bad nock low (3 to 4 inches) and I have to get the nocking point raised a long ways (or rest lowered) in order to do so.

I'm fairly new to this, and I'm looking for some advice. I'm pretty confident my draw length is fine. Is there a chance this is a form issue? Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
4,361 Posts
If the POI is truly the same, and the nock is merely pointing low, I'd bet it still shoots broadheads great. That said, the first thing I'd do is set the nock back to 1/8" high. Then untwist the control cable 2 times. Re-shoot. This will advance the top cam slightly.

·
Registered
665 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
If my rest was falling too soon (or too late for that matter), could that cause the nock low?

·
Registered
4,361 Posts
If my rest was falling too soon (or too late for that matter), could that cause the nock low?
If it was falling to late, then it would more than likely cause a tail high from the shaft bouncing off of it. It wouldn't be from it falling too early either. I don't think its rest related if you're getting decent flight now. I'd work on the cam sync and nock height.