Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,926 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This might be a silly question but bear with me. My Samick Sage has a Brace height of 7"1/8. I would like that to be closer to 8". When you twist the string a ton of times, how do you get it to stay twisted when you take down the bow to put it in its case? Do you have to re-twist it everytime you use it to keep the 8"?

Sorry - I'm a newbie to traditional archery

·
Registered
76,751 Posts
This might be a silly question but bear with me. My Samick Sage has a Brace height of 7"1/8. I would like that to be closer to 8". When you twist the string a ton of times, how do you get it to stay twisted when you take down the bow to put it in its case? Do you have to re-twist it everytime you use it to keep the 8"?

Sorry - I'm a newbie to traditional archery
Well when I unstring my bow, it is only from the nock on the top limb... the bottom limb, if its loose, tie it, band it, or tape it... my friend slipped a finger tip from some kind of tight glove over it.... I use rubber bands.... :)

·
Registered
20,536 Posts
I -

You twist the string in the direction that tightens the center serving. If it's an endless loop string (and made correctly) that should also tighten the loop binding servings. If that's not the case the center serving takes priority. On a flemish splice splice string, you keep going in the direction it was originally twisted.

On a take down bow it can get a little trickier, since the string is usually removed. If the string was made to the correct length, it shouldn't need a lot of twists and a good application of wax should keep the twists in place. Some folks do things like slip one end of the string in the opposite loop to keep the twists in.

Viper1 out.

·
Registered
76,751 Posts
I -