Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Goverment cant keep their hands out of anything.

In a small village in the southwestern part of ohio, a village has decided who is allowed to hunt not only village property, but of the private landowners as well. I've been hunting this area for the past 7 years. It began with permission to hunt the village property. It was ok for 4 years with the local gov when i resided in the village. After they thought i had moved out of the village they took the permit away. I later explained to them that i still resided within the village and would like my permit back. They explained that they wanted to allow others the oppurtunity as well. NO problem.. but the others were non-residents, non tax payers, outsiders, but most importantly their buddies.

That year i hunted private property. The next year the village council past an ordinance stated that anyone hunting private property must be oked by the city manager. Thats right the city manager believes he has the right to tell these very wealthy residents what they can do with their land. Anyone wishing to obtain hunting permission on PRIVATE LAND must complete an application obtainable by stopping by the village ranger station. these are not police officers, they are "rangers". They do a background check to make sure you are not convicted a violent felony. Thats the only stipulation layed out in the aplication. As i have found out later , there are others, just not in print. It is whether or not they like you.

The application also stipulates that you must hunt from a treestand. How about those that are handicaped??? Isnt that a violation of ADA? It also mandates that you must have completed a hunter education course? Isnt that age descrimintation.. in the state of ohio most of those people over the age of about 40 are exempt because a grandfather claus from before the law was put into act state wide....