Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
812 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been told by many veteran archers to wear solid rubber boots (like Muck Boots) while hunting to hide scent.
And I do.

But what about in warm weather when those boots are extremely hot?
Bow season here opens Saturday and we will have many days hotter than 85 degrees with 90% humidity over the next few weeks.

I have heard to avoid leather, so what to wear?

Some have said to wear low top hiking shoes that are only worn while hunting.

Suggestions?

Thank you,

The Pack Mule

·
Making it REIGN
3,794 Posts
Go barefoot!

·
Registered
3,416 Posts
I got the un insulated version of the Irish Setter Rut Master this year.
Wore them hanging stands in 90 degree heat.
Work great.

·
Registered
205 Posts
I wear LaCrosse grange non insulated rubber boots. They aren't cool but work. I'm a rice farmer so I wear them daily from May till September. I may just be use to them.

·
Registered
812 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thank you for the suggestions. I will look into these.

·
Registered
2,612 Posts
irish setter vaper trek for me. my feet sweat so bad in rubber boots that I would think the smell would leak out. plus the are very uncomfortable.

·
Registered
186 Posts
I have UA trail boots called OPS trainer. its like a high ankle sneaker with great traction, super light weight as well as water resistant so walking through fields your socks stay dry. got them for 45$ at Field and stream so bought 3 pairs

·
Registered
1,876 Posts
I wear my Muck "Chore" boots when it's really warm. One pair of socks and they don't get too hot.

·
Registered
2,140 Posts