Archery Talk Forum banner

What bow to buy???

447 Views 13 Replies 14 Participants Last post by  bowtech2006
I am new to the world of archery!
I am looking to buy a bow, but I dont know what I should be looking for, or even what type of questions I should be asking. My draw length is 28.5'', and am probably looking at getting a 60 lb. draw weight. I will mainly be using it to hunt deer, and moose. I am thinking of the Bowtech Captain, or APA Black Mamba MX2. Any info or advice that anyone has to offer is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
1,842 Posts
the bowtech admiral and captain are great choices if you're looking for a forgiving/shock-free bow with enough kinetic energy to take down not only deer but moose as well. I have not experienced the apa you speak of so I can't provide no input to that. mathews are quality bows as well as the new hoyt alphamax 32 or 35. If you are partial to bowtech, elite archery offers the new Z-28, GT500 and XLR which all have good brace heights (= forgiveness) as well as smooth draw and shock free shooting. They are priced similar to the bowtech and they are FAST. Actually a former bowtech designer created the elite archery company.

Hope that helps.

· Registered
360 Posts
I shot the Ross Carnivore saturday morning and I highly recommend you go and shoot one yourself. The one I shot was at 29DL and 60lbs, graphed at 296fps with a 370gr. arrow. Its worth a shout out.

· Registered
30,683 Posts
The best advise is to shoot as many as you can get your hands on, see how they feel so you can compare them.

A few questions to keep in mind:

Where will you be hunting? Are you going to have to carry this bow a lot? Remember it will be heavier once its fully set up. If you will be walking through dense woods, you might not want a really long Axle to axle length.

Is the bow quiet? If not, what will it take to make it quiet?