Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,635 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My son and I have been shooting quite a bit, but we just recently started video taping each other. I have very little experience tuning a bow as I usually let the pro shop do it, but I am wanting to learn. Anyway, as the arrow leaves my sons bow the tail drops. He is shooting with a release, and the rest is a whisker biscuit. I can't see where the fletchings are hitting anything. Any help would be appreciated. thanks!

·
Registered
15,839 Posts
If it is a dual cam it is probably a little out of time. Just a little though. His nock could be low. The tiller could be adjusted by backing out the lower limb a little. I personally, wouldn't worry about it. IMO, the WB is not very tuneable.

·
Registered
1,635 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It is a Diamond Rascal solo cam bow. I cranked the limbs down all the way last night, and it is the first that we noticed the arrow dropping at the fletching end like that. You mentioned backing out the bottom limb. Would this be something you would try?

Thanks

·
Dad, Husband, Hunter
2,993 Posts
Sounds like

I would say your knock might have moved done. I would start there and see what happens. Remember a slight move of the knock will make a big change. Good luck.

·
Registered
1,635 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I will look at the nock location also tonight. thanks

·
Registered
15,839 Posts
greenhead3 said:
It is a Diamond Rascal solo cam bow. I cranked the limbs down all the way last night, and it is the first that we noticed the arrow dropping at the fletching end like that. You mentioned backing out the bottom limb. Would this be something you would try?

Thanks
This is what is called tiller adjustment. Now, it is not uncommon for some shooter to adjust the tiller. It is about the only way on a single cam to change the "timing". The nock is either too low or the lower limb is stronger than the top and it is pulling the nock down.