Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
604 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still new to bowhunting, I dont understand the terrm like "80% letoff"?? thank you

GANoles09

·
Banned
3,216 Posts
if a compound bow is 60 pounds and has 75% let off the holding weight once the bow is at full draw should be 15 pounds. this is why they are COMPOUND bows. thats what the wheels or cams do.

·
Registered
12,196 Posts
More succintly put, "let off" is the percentage the draw weight is reduced when you're at full draw.

·
Registered
6,770 Posts
I'm still new to bowhunting, I dont understand the terrm like "80% letoff"?? thank you

GANoles09
it basically means your holding 20% percent of the draw weight at full draw.... for example....a draw weight of 60lbs with 80% letoff means your holding a weight of 12 lbs at full draw...the lower the letoff the more holding weight the higher the letoff the less holding weight....this plays a huge part in holding steady.

·
Registered
86 Posts
It seems the higher your letoff % the easier it is to hold. Does a person give anything up (speed, energy, etc.) by using a bow's highest letoff versus its lowest... say 80% instead of 65%?

·
Registered
311 Posts
The disadvantage to a high (over 75%) let-off cam is a small reduction in arrow velocity vs. a lower let-off cam system. All other things being equal, a bow with 65% let-off will shoot faster than a bow with 80% let-off. However, the difference in speed is usually only a few fps.

·
Registered
6,216 Posts
Something I just posted on another thread.

"All things being equal" yes, but you shorten the draw length by just moving pegs, no, you lose speed. You also lose any valley you might have had.

However a cam designed to be at 70% letoff at the same draw, yes would be faster.