Archery Talk Forum banner

What equipment improved your accuracy?

3282 Views 53 Replies 47 Participants Last post by  BillyRay
Hi everyone. I am a beginner in target shooting.

I know that the persons skills will ultimately determing accuracy but I was just curious what types of equipment, whether its the sight, arrows, brace height, etc, that helps in being a little more accurate?

Just try to gain an understanding of what peices of equipment I should consider upgrading when I hit the accuracy plateau.

Heres what I ordered as my first target shooting bow:

2008 DIAMOND BLACK ICE

IBO SPEED: 318 FPS
A2A LENGTH: 32" (i know longer A2A is preferred for target but not within my budget)
BRACE HEIGHT: 7.5"
DRAW WEIGHTS: 50-70#
DRAW LENGTHS: 26-30"
BOW MASS: 3.6 LBS.
ECCENTRICS: SINGLE CAM
LET-OFF: 65-80%

ARROW REST CHOICE: Hostage by Bowtech
SIGHT CHOICE: Viper Eliminator 3-Pin F/O in Camo
STABILIZER: Hi-Tek 4" in Realtree Hardwoods
RELEASE: Tru-Fire Patriot Caliper
PEEP SIGHT: Jim Fletcher Tru-Peep
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

· Banned
3,222 Posts
taking the same brand of bows and going to longer a2a and more brace height models.
For target, a 33" beiter stabilizer. Playing with the sliding tuners until I really got it the way i liked it in terms of balance. i never got a target stab exactly the way i wanted until then.The beiter is great for nearly an infinite amount of balance adjustment.
a modified carter ember I ,playing with this lil sweetheart I discovered 2 finger, at least for me is best. with less hand on the release, fewer fingers that might move during the release phase of the shot.

TT small launcher drop away

3 mistakes corrected
getting off blazers and going back to duravanes

getting off xcutters and going to beman 9.3 400's for 3D and converting those bemans to g nock bushings.
getting off S22's to ACC for target( not to dis GT too much,i still use GT 7595 for hunting)

· Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·