Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Folks,

I am looking for a some input on what constitutes a good practice regimen. I am relatively new to archery, having not shot a bow in 40 years until the last month or so. Unfortunately I am not able to practice in my yard. The archery range is an indoor range about 20 minutes from my house. I am taking lessons from the owner.

I can't shoot every day, but try to practice twice a week. I am pretty much a recreational archer who just wants to be as good as I can be while enjoying the sport.

I am interested in your thoughts on an efficient practice session including thoughts on stretching, warm-up, shooting distances (range max is 20 yards), practice objectives, how long a practice session should be, how many arrows to shoot in total, etc.

The only thing I can compare this to in my experience is golf. For example, I have a routine that starts with stretching, then warm-up focusing on tempo, followed by wedges, progressing through longer irons, and lastly the driver. I will often finish by playing a few imaginary holes where I hit driver, then an iron to specific target on the range . Would something similar be beneficial in an archery practice session - maybe shoot at 10 yards, then 15, and finally 20 yards? Maybe finish with some type of competition?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

·
Registered
10,858 Posts
Do you have a garage or decent length hall?

What style of archery are you pursuing? What are your goals?

-Grant

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Do you have a garage or decent length hall?

What style of archery are you pursuing? What are your goals?

-Grant
I am currently shooting a 45 year old Wing Archery Nighthawk 60"/30#. After some more lessons and practice, I will upgrade to something like the SF Forged Plus (either 23 or 25" riser) and the Axiom Plus limbs or TradTech Black Max limbs. Probably add a decent sight to the new gear.