Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
5,011 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to traditional, and am loveing my savana longbow. I was practiceing today, and wondered how far I should be proficient before actualy hunting for game on a regular basis. So what is the max range that most of you would shoot at an elk or deer? Also I dont need to hear the old "its not how far, but how close" stuff. I am asking for real information here from real people. I am not looking at shooting animals far away, or I would stick with my compound. I am looking for honest answers from honest poeple. I assume the comfort range is probably inside 20 yards for most traditional shooters, but I dont know. Thanks Bill

·
Registered
11,287 Posts
I am new to traditional, and am loveing my savana longbow. I was practiceing today, and wondered how far I should be proficient before actualy hunting for game on a regular basis. So what is the max range that most of you would shoot at an elk or deer? Also I dont need to hear the old "its not how far, but how close" stuff. I am asking for real information here from real people. I am not looking at shooting animals far away, or I would stick with my compound. I am looking for honest answers from honest poeple. I assume the comfort range is probably inside 20 yards for most traditional shooters, but I dont know. Thanks Bill
If the circumstances were right and I felt confident in the shot I would take a 50yrds. shot at an elk.

90% of my shots on a McKenzie elk target are in the kill zone at that range.

My opinion is to use a 3D target of the animal you intend to hunt and if you can put 90% of your arrows into the kill zone at a particular distance...that's a realistic hunting distance.

Some people use 100% as their standard and I respect that.

Another test is to use the NFAA 300 round and use a score of 240 or more as the defining distance.

Ray :shade:

·
Registered
5,011 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks blackwolf