Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there folks. I've just gotten into archery and am wondering what kind of routine people have when it comes to practicing. Things I'm particularly interested in are warm up/stretches, and how you go about setting up for the shot. Any minor detail to you, may be just what I'm looking for so don't worry about boring me. I just am curious what some of the more experienced folks do out there. Also any anchoring/shooting tips would be appreciated! Do's and Don'ts would be great to!:darkbeer:

·
Registered
484 Posts
I normally pick up my bow and my hip quiver, walk out the back door and proceed to my shooting area and start letting the arrows fly. Nothing fancy just shooting. I used to have BAD target panic and then i started shooting with a looser grip and making the bow fall toward the target after the shot and it helped alot.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Simple plan... I like it.

Anyone with stretches they include?

Also does anyone perform excercises that are archery related to help this, that or the other aspect of your shooting?

·
Registered
81 Posts
I always shoot 3-5 arrows at point blank range with my eyes closed at the start and end of practice which is usually 30 arrows or less over an hour or less. The idea is to concentrate on form and release, really helps me avoid target panic also. This was a tip from Randy Ulmers tips. I also shoot at least 4 days a week even if only 6 arrows indoors in the off season at home. JIm

·
Registered
8,465 Posts