Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6,417 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought one in the spring and finally sold it as I was dissastisfied with the noise level. The rest of my Mathews bows have been quiet. I have read other post where owners thought the bow was loud. Mathews have been my favorite and my xt is silent. I would like to pick up another bow for fingers and for some reason I would not mind gambling on a used ovation again. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
15,839 Posts
The Ovation was the last Mathews, I owned. I started shooting Martins and never looked back. They are more adjustable. I had the Ovation for competition and it was Slovation as far as I was concerned. I bought a different cam for it and still didn't like it. The noise wasn't a factor.

If I had to buy a Mathews for finger shooting it would be a Conquest. It is the better design unless you want to go Apex.

·
Registered
117 Posts
Quite Ovation

I Am Very Surprised To See This. I Own One Of The 1st Ovations My Dealer Had,so Many Fellow Archers I Have Shot With The Last Couple Of Years Have Commented About How Quite It Is. It Has A Zero-effect Rest ,limb Savers,and A Sts On It,but It Was Not Loud Before I The The STS On,I PUTIt On To Get Arrow Off The String As Soon Possible For Accuruscy. I Won Seaveral Local 3-d Shoots And Placed High In Many Others With This Set Up And Had Not Pior To Owning This Bow. Stew

·
Registered
6,417 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I stand corrected. It was the spring of 2005 that I bought and Ovation. I had researched reports of the bow being quiet but was amazed that it wasn't, at least for me. My bow was in spec. It just sounded terrible. With a heavy 2216 at 60 lbs.

·
EPLC Stabilization 4-Sale
9,449 Posts
westksbowhunter said: