Archery Talk Forum banner

What Spine Arrows???

425 Views 2 Replies 3 Participants Last post by  JasonJ
Hello all,
This is my first post on ArcheryTalk. Actually this is my first post online about anything archery related. I am a newbie starting out with my university. I have been given two different recommendations on what size arrow shafts to buy. I am looking at the Easton X7 Eclipse. As far as bow setup, I will be shooting a 25" SF Forged Plus Riser, SF Premium Plus Carbon Limbs-Long, with a 14 strand SF Archery String. I am currently shooting 30" arrows but I have the tips just about to fall off of the rest, and I feel like I am not quite at full draw. My plan was to buy the 2212 shafts based on the spine recommendation given to me by Lancaster Archery. However a friends father is recommending the 1914, which is significantly weaker. Since I will likely be pulling anywhere from 31 to 35 pounds depending on how the limbs are set, wouldn't the 2212 be ideal? As I side note, I intend to keep the arrows a little long around 31" to 31.5" so that I can find out exactly what my draw length is as I become more experienced. Also, the Easton Nibb point on the 2212 is much heavier than for the 1914, so wouldn't that help offset the stiffer spine as well? What do you guys think?
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· ArcheryTalk Sponsor
645 Posts
Hi Crashtacular;