Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to archery and would greatly appreciate some advice. I’m looking for a good all around compound bow for indoor, field and 3D. I’m leaning towards purchasing the following bow and accessories. Is this a good setup? Please feel free to offer any suggestions. Thanks

Bow: Hoyt UltraTec XT2000 Cam & ½ (Target)
50 – 60 # (26 to 28.5 draw)
Rest: Hoyt Q.T, 3000
Sight: Sure loc Supreme 9” with Titan Scope
Stabilizer: Easton A/C/E VRS
Release: Scott Longhorn III Back Tension

·
Registered
1,417 Posts
It sounds very reasonable. I wonder about the arrow rest, however....

And what about your arrows?

kgk

·
Registered
870 Posts
I recommend the Ultratec with Xt 3000 limbs. I would order it with the spiral cam 1/2. I t has a very short valley but with the right draw length and a back tension release you will have no problem shooting it. I have a 27 in draw and at 5 grains per lb I am getting right at 290 fps but I only shoot 282 fps to be legal in Asa. I am shooting 62 lbs and my arrow weighs 327 grains. I am getting 1 inch groups at 50 yards and at 60 yards about the same.
This set up not only gives you 41 inch axle to axle it also gives you the speed for 3D and the brace height "7 3/8" needed for forgiveness. This is an awesome set up. I do not beleive there is a better bow than this or unless you have the draw length for the protec and I would still have to argue the point. The UT. won the Indoor nationals and Vegas.